Sunday, September 30, 2007


OHRID, Macedonia (September 30,2007) – The first session of the CEFTA member countries’ Joint Board was held at the ministerial level in Ohrid,Macedonia.The Bosnian delegation was lead by the Bosnian Deputy Minister of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations Vilim Primorac.

The meeting was also attended by the Head of the European Delegation in Macedonia Erwan Fuere, SE Europe Stability Pact’s Special Coordinator Erhard Busek and the RCC Secretary General Hido Biscevic.

Some important decisions have been made. The Joint Board’s Rules of Procedure has been adopted; the CEFTA Secretariat mandate has been determined, as well as the way of financing the CEFTA Secretariat.

The Board also passed a decision on formation of three sub boards – for agriculture, for customs and for non-customs barriers, including the technical trade barriers.

The Board members adopted the joint Declaration which welcomes the CEFTA agreement ratification by Bosnia.It was emphasized that such form of regional cooperation is an integral component of the relationship of the EU towards the region and that the future of the Southeastern European countries lies in the EU membership.

The declaration welcomed the initiative of chambers of commerce from the region to organize a Forum of CEFTA 2006 chambers of commerce.

The ministers have obliged to urge their governments to fully cooperate with the RCC, the Bosnian Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic relations announced.

No comments: